[Bio] The Head and the Heart

View Comments

Indie folk-pop band, The Head and the Heart, was formed in the summer of 2009 in Seattle, Washington. A series of open mic nights as Seattle’s Conor Byrne Pub brought them together.

Josiah Johnson came up from Southern California for graduate school. Jonathan Russell and drummer Tyler Williams had recently come to town from Virginia. Keyboardist Kenny Hensley had moved to Seattle for musical score writing. Charity Rose Thielen had recently studied in Paris. And last but not least, they hired Chris Zasche, the bartender at Conor Byrne Pub.

Their self-titled first album started out as a home-burned CD with sleeves hand-made of denim, that they sold at their shows. But before long, local record stores East Street and Sonic Boom couldn’t keep them in stock. This drew the interest of record labels and in November of 2010, they signed with Sub Pop. The record company remastered the album, added a cut, re-recorded one song and released it on CD and vinyl, in time for Record Store Day in 2011.


  1. Cats and Dogs
  2. Couer D’alene
  3. Ghosts
  4. Down in the Valley
  5. Rivers and Roads
  6. Honey Come Home
  7. Lost in My Mind
  8. Winter Song
  9. Sounds Like Hallelujah
  10. Heaven Go Easy On Me
View Comments
blog comments powered by Disqus

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 25 other followers